yoga nadis

Yoga Nadis Yogi’s Guide to Unlocking the Three Primary Nadis

Yoga Nadis– Yoga is the ancient art of uniting your body, mind, and spirit. This ancient art has numerous techniques which help you connect with the deeper parts of your being. Yoga also talks about igniting the inner fire and controlling the flow of the sacred Prana energy. It is done by unlocking the seven chakras lying in a dormant state in your subtle body. A more subtle aspect of your body is the yoga nadis.

As stated above, your body contains the sacred Prana energy. But, do you ever wonder how the energy flows from one part of the body to another? It is through the route of yoga nadis. Yoga Nadis are the pathway through which this energy flows. First, let us understand a bit about these subtle energy flow channels.

Yoga Nadis – a Brief Introduction

The word Nadis comes from the Sanskrit language and means channel or flow. Each Nadi in your body is a channel for the sacred Prana energy.

These are subtle energy channels that are not visible to the naked eye. On a physical level, these respond to the nervous system. However, any imbalance in either of these leads to physical and mental distress.

Do you know about the three primary Yoga Nadis in your subtle body? No? Let yoga experts guide you.

1. Ida

The Ida Nadi is the left channel that starts at the root chakra and moves to the left side of your body. Similar to Pingala Nadi, it flows back and forth along your spine. The path of Ida Nadi ends in your left nostril.

Ida Nadi helps in the flow of mental energy. It is the yin side of your personality and contains the softer and feminine emotions.

2. Pingala

Known as the right channel, the Pingala Nadi starts at the base of your spine and moves to the right side of your body. It then crisscrosses all the seven chakras located along your spine. The path of Pingala Nadi ends in the right nostril of your nose.

Pingala Nadi is the point of origin of the sacred Prana energy. It contains the yang side of your personality that houses masculine traits like strength and light.

Also Read:- Yoga Teacher Training In Rishikesh

3. Sushumna Nadi

The central Nadi that runs through the entire length of your spine is the Sushumna Nadi. It runs from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Sushumna Nadi is also the channel of spiritual awareness and balance. It helps you feel enlightened and fulfilled.

Now, let us focus on how you can unlock yoga nadis without much hassle. Yoga experts have come up with some techniques to help you free all three yoga nadis.

Also Read:- Yoga Alliance Certification

How to Unlock the Yoga Nadis with Yoga?

All yoga practices harness the solar and lunar energies that unlock yoga nadis. Some yoga techniques can help you release these energy channels.

Keeping the above statement in mind, below are three powerful yogic techniques to help you free these subtle energy channels.

1. Ujjayi (Ocean Breath Breathing)

The most common Pranayama technique which you practice is the Ujjayi breath. Ujjayi is a calming and centered form of Pranayama which helps you remain focused and present during meditation and yoga. The Ujjayi breathing shifts your awareness towards your breath.

2. Nadi Shodhana (Alternate Nostril Breathing)

Nadi Shodhana is the best Pranayama technique that delivers fresh oxygen throughout all the yoga nadis. This breathing technique cleans and equalizes the left and right sides of your brain. Nadi Shodhana’s technique aligns with the masculine and feminine energies of your being.

3. Bhastrika (Breath of Fire)

The best Pranayama technique that helps release toxins from your body. It also provides your body and mind with fresh energy. Bhastrika is the best yogic technique to balance your nervous system and improve concentration levels.

Also Read:- RYT Certification

4. Sitali Pranayama (Cooling Breath)

The word Sitali means cooling. It clears the internal body heat with coolness. Sitali is an effective Pranayama technique you can practice during summertime.

There it is! The guide to understanding everything about the three yoga nadis and how you can unlock each of these.


To unlock Yoga Nadis, you should enroll in a certified yoga school. You would get in-depth lessons about all the three major yoga nadis. Moreover, the yoga teachers at the school would help you unlock these subtle energy channels without any hassle.

Read More:- Yoga Gurus of India